NaNo’s Coming …

coming-soon

Tick-tock, tick-tock … are you ready? NaNoWriMo will be here before we know it. Are you ready to commit to writing 50,000 words in 30 days?

This year I’m going to win. I will confess though that I’m a NaNo Rebel. I will continue working on my current work in progress, Broken Toys.

As we lead up to November 1st, I’m going to post the Who, What, How, Why and When of Nano. The easiest to answer is When. NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) runs from 12:01 a.m. November 1st to 11:59 p.m. November 30th.

Who or What is NaNo?

NaNoWriMo is a world-wide virtual write in. Imagine hundreds of thousands of people around the world all sitting down to write novels together.

The very first NaNo consisted of twenty-one people getting together and deciding to each write a novel in one month. Can you imagine? 50,000 words in 30 days? Crazy, right? Well from that simple beginning, NaNo has grown and grown. Last year 431,626 people started the month as ordinary people – waitresses, auto mechanics, bookkeepers, oilfield hands, stay-at-home moms, police officers. They finished the month as novelists.

Over 250 NaNoWriMo novels have been traditionally published. They include Sara Gruen’sWater for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, Hugh Howey’s Wool, Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Jason Hough’s The Darwin Elevator, and Marissa Meyer’s Cinder. You can see the complete list here.

So who’s ready to join me? If you want to tackle this crazy challenge, sign up at Nanowrimo.org and send me a buddy request. My NaNo “handle” is cmtgkt. I look forward to hearing from you.

I’ll be gone over the weekend helping my Grandma celebrate her 106th birthday (yes, that is her one hundred and sixth birthday!) with a fajita cookout at my sister’s house but I’ll be back next week with more on the how and why of NaNo plus some really cool tips to help you prep for your NaNo challenge. (And with some fun photos from the birthday celebration!)

Until then, keep writing!

Leave a Reply

