Birthin’ a Blog and Challenges

Yep, April is already kicking my hindquarters.

To steal and paraphrase Prissy in Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind, I don’t no know nothing ’bout birthing no babies – nor blogs for that matter. Who would have guessed the challenges involved in coming up with a blog post every single day of the month, except Sundays, using the alphabet as a guide?

I had no clue what to expect and early on, I’m already struggling. I forgot among the many challenges of writing, April brings its own physical challenges as well. Here in South Texas where I hang out most of the time, April is the month Bi-Polar Mother Nature loves. Barometric pressure swings from one extreme to the other and each time it changes, my head explodes. Life with migraines is not a walk in the park.

Birthing a blog is a Challenge of its own. What am I going to say? How do I get people to read it? Why would anyone want to read it? Anyone else struggle with these questions?

I googled “Tips for Starting a Blog” and came up with pages and pages of results. I thought I would share a few of the tips I found here.

1. Visual media will only get bigger. Time to take your own photos.

Ok, I can do this. I’m a photographer first and foremost. Wait? When do I have time to          write the post, take the photos, edit the photos and then post them. This Blog thing is a       lot more work than I was led to believe.

Challenge – Find the time to think visually and incorporate photos into my blog.

2. Build an email list.

Wait? How do I do this? What do I do with an email list? I need to send out emails in               addition to my blog posts? When do I have time to write my novel?

Challenge – Convince people to not only give me their email addresses but also permission to email them. Think of something to say to them via email.

3. Personal branding is where it’s at.

Personal branding? Not like using a cattle brand, it is? That would hurt. “Personal              Branding is the practice of people marketing themselves and their careers as brands. While previous self-help management techniques were about self-improvement, the personal-branding concept suggests instead that success comes from self-packaging.”

Challenge – Develop an image that people will automatically associate with me. Is nutty goofball a brand? Can I adopt it?

4. Write compelling content.

FINALLY, we get to writing. Oh, hey … it said compelling content. How do I know what’s compelling?

Challenge – Figure out what my readers consider compelling.

Who wants to join me in these Challenges and the many more that will come up in this processes of Birthin’ and Raising a Blog?

 

2 thoughts on “Birthin’ a Blog and Challenges

  1. Blogging can definitely be a challenge! I view it as akin to writing a story a day, for a daily newspaper. I worked on my university’s paper, and it got easier as time went on, but it’s certain a skill that requires practice. If you give yourself a deadline, and write the story in advance, that usually helps.

    Pictures don’t necessarily have to be your own, though. You can search for Creative Commons photos on Flickr and then post other people’s stuff with a link back to them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

